Webinar: Including English Learners in ESSA State Accountability Plans

Webinar: Including English Learners in ESSA State Accountability Plans

When:

Thursday, March 9, 2017

1:00 P.M. ET (New York, D.C.)
12:00 P.M. CT (Chicago)
11:00 A.M. MT (Denver)
10:00 A.M. PT (San Francisco)

Where:

MPI Webinar
Click here to register.

Speakers:

Delia Pompa, Senior Fellow for Education Policy, MPI

Susan Lyons, Associate, National Center for the Improvement of Educational Assessment

Moderator:

Margie McHugh, Director, National Center on Immigrant Integration Policy, MPI

Since the federal Every Student Succeeds Act (ESSA) was signed into law in December 2015, community-based groups have been working with states to ensure that English Learners (ELs) are appropriately included in the state accountability system. These systems are complex, leading to questions about the best practices states should adopt and processes to hold schools and states accountable for ELs’ achievement in the fairest and most accurate manner. Participants in this webinar should come away with a better understanding of the decisions states are making and information to inform their own views on these decisions.

This webinar also will mark the release of a set of 13 state fact sheets that provide a sketch of EL demographics, student outcomes, and accountability mechanisms under ESSA and its predecessor, the No Child Left Behind Act (NCLB). These fact sheets (covering California, Colorado, Florida, Georgia, Illinois, Massachusetts, Minnesota, New York, North Carolina, Tennessee, Texas, Virginia, and Washington) will be accessible on a new MPI web page, English Learners and the Every Student Succeeds Act (ESSA). The web page will offer one-stop access to a number of resources that could help policymakers, community groups, parents, and others understand ongoing issues surrounding implementation of ESSA regulations at the state level.

Comments are closed.